| Country | Sri Lanka (LK) |
|---|
| Route | Investor Visa — Sri Lanka 2026 |
|---|
| Route family | Investor |
|---|
| Route type | investor |
|---|
| Summary | Current investor residence route with five- and ten-year thresholds tied to qualifying investments. |
|---|
| Last verified | 2026-09-30 |
|---|
| Official/supporting source count | 1 |
|---|
| Route guide | Open full guide → |
|---|
| Program availability | ActiveSource 1 |
|---|
| Best-fit work models | Investor, Business owner, Family / partnerSource 1 |
|---|
| Income requirement | Not applicableAs of 2026-10-09Source 1 |
|---|
| Savings requirement | Not applicableAs of 2026-10-09Source 1 |
|---|
| Investment requirement | Minimum qualifying investment is USD 100,000 for a five-year visa or USD 200,000 for a ten-year visa. Funds must use the specified Inward Investment Account and Visa Programme Foreign Currency Account mechanism and be placed in an eligible investment category.As of 2026-10-09Source 1 |
|---|
| Government fees | The published guideline lists USD 200 per year for the main applicant, spouse and each dependant. Confirm the current payable amount and any additional charges with the Department before filing.As of 2026-10-09Source 1 |
|---|
| Processing time | The published guideline describes submission, evaluation and visa issuance but does not state a decision-time estimate. Ask the Department's Residence Visa Division for a current case-specific timeline.As of 2026-10-09Source 1 |
|---|
| Validity | The guideline describes a five-year visa for a USD 100,000 minimum investment and a ten-year visa for USD 200,000; it says endorsement is initially granted for five years and a USD 200,000 investor receives a Department letter to extend for an additional five years.As of 2026-10-09Source 1 |
|---|
| Renewal | The guideline describes an additional five-year extension for investors who made at least USD 200,000, subject to the Department issuing an official extension letter. It does not describe the USD 100,000 category as eligible for that additional five-year extension.As of 2026-10-09Source 1 |
|---|
| Family inclusion | The official guideline lists the spouse and dependants of the main applicant as eligible. Marriage and birth certificates are required for spouse and dependant applications; the source does not specify an age limit for dependants.As of 2026-10-09Source 1 |
|---|
| Spouse work rights | The guideline lists the spouse and dependants as eligible for residence with the investor but does not give them separate work authorization. Do not assume the spouse may take local employment without separate confirmation from the Department.As of 2026-10-09Source 1 |
|---|
| Local-work rules | The visa allows the holder to reside while managing the qualifying investment. The reviewed investor-visa guideline does not state that it authorizes unrelated employment; obtain confirmation from the Department before taking other paid work.As of 2026-10-09Source 1 |
|---|
| Application location | Submit the application and supporting documents to Sri Lanka's Department of Immigration and Emigration, Residence Visa Division, Suhurupaya, Battaramulla.As of 2026-10-09Source 1 |
|---|
| Permanent-residence pathway | The investor visa is a fixed-term residence visa. The Department's guideline does not make this visa permanent residence or state that investment alone grants permanent residence; a separate qualifying immigration pathway is required.As of 2026-10-09Source 1 |
|---|
| Citizenship pathway | The investor guideline establishes a five- or ten-year residence visa but does not provide citizenship by investment or automatic citizenship. Any later naturalisation would require a separate qualification under Sri Lankan nationality law.As of 2026-10-09Source 1 |
|---|